NoNaRhiNo

31 Oct

Heaven help us, it’s nearly that time of year again. The deluge, the great outpouring… So I’m getting my words in early. I won’t reach the 50,000 mark. My story won’t even make 500 words. But here it is, nonetheless.

Nona the Rhino – known also as NoNaRhiNo, so that illiterates didn’t have to feel bad about placing capital letters in the middle of words – was on the rampage again. She was a very large beast and she was very flatulent. She’d been grazing on cabbages and Brussels sprouts. And she was charging around now, blowing out hot air. Perrfrumpppp. So severe was the wind blowing from Nona’s backside that it threatened to last for an entire month. Prraaaarrrp.

rhino

NoNaRhiNo

And all of that hot air was contributing to global warming. Prruurruuup. People told her that if she’d only stop eating up all those leaves then the flatulence might stop too. But she wouldn’t listen. She kept on blundering around and trumpeting, as rhinos do, without stopping to think for a moment. Nona was immune to criticism. She had a hide, well, like a rhinoceros’s. Fraaarrrpp.

And if you see NoNaRhiNos charging around everywhere that you look this Movember, remember Ionesco’s stark warning. Take care – before you know it, you might have become a NoNaRhiNo too. Phrrrurrmmp.

And the moral of the tale? Forget NaNoWriMo – grow a moustache this Movember instead. 

All text and image © PSR 2013

6 Responses to “NoNaRhiNo”

  1. Mari Biella October 31, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    Ah, NaNoWriMo … Perhaps it’s symptomatic of a wider modern malaise – the desire for results without having to worry about pesky little things like patience and hard work (or perhaps I’m just beginning to sound like my grandmother). I think it’s a pretty harmless little exercise in and of itself, but I hope that nobody mistakes the result of one month’s labour with a finished product. I’ll tweet about the wonderful NoNaRhiNo to help spread the word…

    Are you going to grow a Movember ‘tache then, Paul?

  2. Paul Sutton Reeves October 31, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Hi Mari and thanks for your comments.

    It is indeed all part of the something-for-nothing, instantly-gratified world in which we live (am I Statler or Waldorf?). Thanks for spreading the word on NoNaRhiNo!

    Yep, a Movember handlebar is on its way…

  3. www.laurensapala.com October 31, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

    Hahaha, I love it! Paul, you really have a gift for humor in your writing. I just started Mayflies yesterday and that’s something I really appreciate about it. It’s very FUNNY. I am totally enjoying myself with the seven dwarves 😉

  4. Paul Sutton Reeves October 31, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

    Hi Lauren and thanks for your kind comments. I believe that humour is such a large part of life – even if it’s of the gallows variety – that writing without it rings false and is often rather po-faced.

  5. www.laurensapala.com November 1, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    And right after I posted that comment I picked up Mayflies and read on further and found the dark side…but I am still really enjoying it.

  6. Paul Sutton Reeves November 2, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    It’s a pretty dark topic, in fact, but those involved still treated it with a certain levity that I’ve attempted to reflect. I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

