Passion

5 Jul

Crumbs, I’ve been busy. That’s why I haven’t posted on here lately. I’ve been working fourteen hour days just to pay the bills. So this is just a quick post to remind myself about my passion for writing and reading.

Here are a few thoughts on the subject.

A good writer must be passionate about the written word. If he or she isn’t, it’ll show up in the prose.

A good writer has to be a passionate reader. If not, his or her own book won’t deserve to find readers.

A good writer needs to have a passion for life and its living. Think of all the writers whom you know and whose work sparkles on the page. Doesn’t that passion for life come through? The writing will betray the writer who never leaves the study.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The extraordinary passion flower

It was the blooming of the first passion flower in my garden this summer that made me think about the subject. I shall never forget the first time I saw one. The plant was climbing up the wall of a Norfolk rectory where a university friend rented a room (the rector is worthy of a story all to himself). I thought that I was seeing things. It looked like something from another planet. The plant in my garden just appeared there four years ago. It must have grown from a seed that a bird had dropped. I thought I recognised the leaves so I left it, winding its way around a rose bush. So far, though, it has never borne fruit. Is this a symbol for my poor, neglected fiction? Perhaps…

All text and image © PSR 2014

4 Responses to “Passion”

  1. Mari Biella July 6, 2014 at 3:24 am #

    Fourteen-hour days – aarrgh! I’m sorry to hear about that. I’ve heard that there have been suggestions about limiting the working week to four days in the UK, which sounds like a good idea to me, and might be a godsend to writers!

    I agree with all your points. Your passion plant reminds me of my lemon tree: every summer it grows and puts out new foliage, and it looks pretty healthy, but it has yet to give me a single lemon! I keep hoping. I’m not sure about your plant, but I’m sure your fiction will bear fruit – indeed, it has done so already.

  2. Paul Sutton Reeves July 6, 2014 at 7:17 am #

    Hi Mari and thanks for commenting. I’m up early on a Sunday as I’m working again…

    Thanks for your kind comments about my fiction. It hasn’t borne fruit in terms of enticing any publishers, unfortunately. I’d kind of like to share it with the world… And a lemon tree – I’m jealous!

  3. masgautsen July 7, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    Well spoken words 🙂 long hours like that is not fun. Hopefully you’ll have more time to write soon.

  4. Paul Sutton Reeves July 7, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

    Hi Maja and thanks for your comments. A couple of weeks before I can relax, I think… I hope that you’re having a quieter time!

Leave a Reply

