Eating My Own Words/Food for Thought

17 Jul

Well, that’s the better part of a month gone by since I’ve had any time to write. As reported ten days ago, I’ve been working silly hours just to make ends meet. That’s modern England for you if you’re not born with a silver spoon… This afternoon I’ve managed to get my head above water for a few hours and I’m going to take tomorrow off and write. First of all, to attend to my poor, neglected blog…

One thing that I have managed to do over the last few weeks is harvest some of the vegetables that I’ve been growing and to cook up a few vegetable soups and stews. I’ve been practically self-sufficient. It feels good to have that genuine connection with the food that you’re eating, to opt out for a while from the fast food/ready meal culture that has taken over our busy lives. You sometimes have to stop and ask yourself what has happened to the world, to step back and think about what we’re doing with our lives.

Some of the vegetables that I’ve been growing…

...and the soups that I've been cooking.

…and the soups that I’ve been cooking.

Fortunately, though, I shall soon have some time to myself and I’ll be able to take out those stories again that I’ve stashed away like garden produce in the deep freezer. And hopefully, like vegetables left to stew on a slow cooker, I shall find that my the ideas have gained texture, taken on new flavours. Hmm, that’s enough of the culinary metaphors for now, I think. I’m looking forward to revisiting my two works-in-progress, perhaps with the fresh insight that time can bring. My target is to have a first draft of WIP No. 1 completed by the end of summer. This is probably hopelessly unrealistic but we have to aspire… And then I’ll be looking for volunteers to read through what I’ve produced. It’s not a conventional book in any sense so those volunteers will need to be intrepid. It’s like a fusion of Vietnamese, Caribbean and nouvelle cuisines (damn – there I go again…). Any offers?

All text and images © PSR 2014

10 Responses to “Eating My Own Words/Food for Thought”

  1. masgautsen July 18, 2014 at 7:45 am #

    Those vegetabels lookes amazing!

  2. Paul Sutton Reeves July 18, 2014 at 8:06 am #

    Hi Maja and thanks for commenting. They’re pretty good! Courgettes, tomatoes, pumpkins and butternut squash yet to come…

  3. Mari Biella July 18, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    I envy your success with vegetables, Paul – my own attempts at growing have had, er, mixed results. Apart from chilli peppers for some reason, which I’m brilliant at growing. Don’t ask me why…

    I’ll always be happy to read anything you’ve written, and offer my thoughts (for what they’re worth)!

  4. Paul Sutton Reeves July 18, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    Hi Mari and thanks for commenting. I’ve had plenty of miserable vegetable-related failures in the past but I seem to be getting the hang of it. Chilli peppers sound good.

    Thanks for your offer to read. I’ll be taking you up on it at some point later in the year, hopefully.

  5. Sofia August 3, 2014 at 10:08 am #

    Looks very nice and delicious!

  6. PK Read November 1, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    Hi Paul – Very late to the party here, I’ve been seriously out of the loop lately – but if you still need a reader for your WIP, you can always count on me, for whatever it’s worth. Just let me know –

    • Paul Sutton Reeves November 1, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

      Hi Paula. Thanks for the belated offer. It so happens that I’m not far away from having a first draft to put out, so a copy could be coming your way soon… As for the loop, I’m permanently out of it.

Leave a Reply

