Time Cast Anew

31 Dec

And so another ‘new year’ approaches. Except that it doesn’t, really. In truth, one day just follows another. Like most people, though, I still get sucked into it. I write down those resolutions. We humans seem to need these artificial divisions, so that we can impose meaning on the formless future. It’s ridiculous, of course. If we’re to influence at all the shape our lives, we need to take action every day, not just on one evening of the year.

It was a beautiful winter’s day here in East Anglia, so I went for a walk along the river bank. The path passes through a post-industrial landscape before reaching the open countryside. I actually find the ugly part more interesting than the pretty section (as you’ll see from my photographs). And walking always helps with contemplation, I find.

20151231-0001

Time flows seamlessly like a river and has no natural divisions.

One resolution that I shall make is to finish off my current manuscript in 2016. I resolved that for 2015 too… but it is getting closer. It’s an unwieldy thing, neither fitting into any neat genre nor following the conventions of what a novel should look like. So I probably shouldn’t add finding a publisher for it to my resolutions for 2016. Life isn’t at all like a riverside walk, of course, with its predictable stages and landmarks. We have no idea where it will take us. We make plans. Sometimes they come off. More often, they don’t. We shall see…

Giant hogweed, doing its best to resist the council's efforts to eradicate it.

Giant hogweed – some things man just can’t control, however hard he tries.

It so happens that the next 12 months may well have more significance for me than would normally be the case. For once, that artificial time frame may well mirror actual events in my own life that could have a profound impact upon it. For there to be any chance of this actually happening, though, I shall need to work to hard throughout the year. I’ll report back in 366 days’ time…

20151231-0009

I know where these steps will lead me. Life, on the other hand, could head in any number of directions.

So here’s wishing both of my readers a Happy New Year, in the pretence that time isn’t a continuum and that events magically change as a result of the numbers we impose on the universe. I hope that at least some of the things that you have planned for 2016 will come to fruition and that you’ll look back on it as a good year.

All text and images © PSR 2015 [the last of…]

6 Responses to “Time Cast Anew”

  1. Mari Biella January 1, 2016 at 3:01 pm #

    Happy New Year, Paul – and I hope you achieve at least some of the goals you’ve set yourself for 2016! I think you should certainly try to find a publisher, if that’s what you want. Nothing ventured…

    • Paul Sutton Reeves January 3, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

      Happy New Year to you too, Mari! I’ll have to see if I can find the time and energy… I can’t do much at all on the internet at the moment as a Windows 10 update has stopped my laptop making a connection… I’m relying on a Neolithic model at present. I hope you have a year of achieving things too!

  2. Jocelyn Green January 1, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

    Happy New Year, Paul

  3. www.laurensapala.com January 11, 2016 at 10:33 pm #

    Happy New Year Paul! I’ll be excited to get the updates on if you finish your manuscript in 2016. And you know, many of my friends have been having problems with Windows 10 too so I don’t think it can be blamed entirely on your computer.

    • Paul Sutton Reeves January 12, 2016 at 11:45 am #

      And a Happy New Year to you, Lauren!

      I’m nearing the end of the work-in-progress now, so some sort of artefact will emerge this year, for sure. It’s rather odd and possibly not very successful. You know how it is – one day you look at it and you’re impressed with your work, the next day it appears to be juvenile trash! I’d love to have your views when I have something to show. How is your work coming along?

Leave a Reply

