Railway Trip to the Seaside

21 Jan

I’ve written much about my travels across the ocean of late (just as well since I’ve lost my travel journal – but that’s another matter). Sometimes, all that’s required to reinvigorate the spirit is a little local jaunt. I’d been feeling world-weary and so, late in the day, I decided to take the train to the seaside. 

On previous visits to the town, I’ve generally been passing through, on my way to another country. This time, I took the train to the end of the line. Happening upon the local offices of the far-right UK Independence Party in the back streets of the old town was a little disconcerting (it looked like a low-rent estate agency combined with a discount store – how appropriate…) but I found the townspeople to be friendly. After all, how can an international port turn its back on the world? 

As you’d expect of a port, signs of the maritime life were everywhere. There were the numerous pubs, of course, arcane nautical crests and jocular frescoes. Trinity House, the former occupying power, has left its mark on the architecture of the town – lighthouses, lifeboat stations, coastguards’ cottages… So much to see, my two-and-a-half hours there felt like a week-long holiday. 

20170119-0119

Old inn, former lightvessel

20170119-0066

Lighthouse, lighthouse

20170119-0085

The sun was setting as I followed the coastal path

I ended my micro-vacation at a small and friendly inn, housed in an ancient timber-framed building. The port’s old town is packed with former and current pubs. I had merely to mention the African grey parrot, perched in his cage by the bar, to find myself included in the conversation of the other customers in the snug. That bird was further from home than me. I had travelled for forty minutes on the train. He had flown in from the Congolese rain forest. As I write this, the UK Independence Party is probably arranging to have him sent back. 

20170119-0094

An artificial isthmus to nowhere – it was so tempting to defy the instruction.

20170119-0129

Boats of all shapes and sizes

20170119-0138

The light dies out to sea

All text and images © PSR 2017

5 Responses to “Railway Trip to the Seaside”

  1. Snow boy January 21, 2017 at 12:13 pm #

    Harwich?

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. masgautsen January 21, 2017 at 2:30 pm #

    Looks so nice!

    • Paul Sutton Reeves January 21, 2017 at 5:11 pm #

      Yes, Maja – very pleasant on a quiet midweek afternoon in winter. Probably less tranquil at the weekend on summer evenings…

      • masgautsen January 21, 2017 at 5:23 pm #

        I would think so.

Leave a Reply

